Chaplaincy Competencies

Why are there several different sets of Competencies?

(See also under ‘Standards’)
When the AHPCC pioneered professional standards for hospice / palliative care chaplains in 2003, we also developed a set of spiritual and religious care competencies in partnership with Marie Curie Cancer Care in 2004, outlining what would be expected of anyone working in palliative care.
When NHS Scotland adapted the AHPCC standards, they produced a set of competencies for chaplains only, but working in all areas of healthcare.
In 2009, the UKBHC adopted both the standards and competencies from NHS Scotland.
In 2010, NHS Wales also adapted the NHS Scotland version, altering some of the terminology.

How do the Competences relate to the Chaplaincy Standards?

(See also under ‘Standards’)
Each set of Chaplaincy Standards addresses the nature and quality of the service that a chaplaincy department should provide, while the corresponding Competencies relate to the individual chaplain’s role and ability. Each section of the Competencies has links to show which Standards it applies to. At present, the Competencies apply to the basic ‘qualified chaplain’ level. These may later be expanded to cover leadership or specialist roles.

Which Competencies should I use?

All three sets of Chaplaincy Competencies are similar, while the Marie Curie Competencies apply to the wider multi-disciplinary team.

Marie Curie (2004) Competencies in Specialist Palliative Care
Marie Curie (2004) Competencies Audit Tool
NHS Scotland (2007) Competencies for Chaplains
UKBHC (2010) Competencies for Chaplains
NHS Wales (2010) Guidance on Competencies for Spiritual Care